Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

The garden’s coming along.

The broad leaf thyme, small leaf thyme, mwiri peppers, bandhania and fenugreek have all taken root and I am very pleased. Although, I must warn that fenugreek would do much better in cooler climes. Also, it is good to keep the mwiri seedlings under a wire mesh till they are large enough to be replanted. I find the birds harvesting them more than I do.

Talking about birds, there are so many varieties out here, I’ll do a photoessay on them soon. So far I’ve had parakeets, parrots, plovers and pigeons desecrate the sapodilla tree and all that grows on it. The bats are at the bananas. And yes, I know, bats are mammals. The bird vine has been attacking the mango and sadly, it isn’t a bird.

I happened to spot a stray macaw on somebody’s gate the other day. It’s true, Guyana is a bird watchers paradise. The best thing so far, there are no crows. the symphony of the birds is what we wake up to each morning.

Back to garden. Lee helped plant pineapples and kallalloo the other day. Pineapples look great if you want a more xerophytic looking landscape. It adds structure to the garden. Like a sisal plant would. The flowers are all doing beautifully and I intend to get some more soon.

We harvested bananas and now there’s a glut. So will go through the various motions of selecting banana bread, banana cake, banana muffin, banana pancake recipes. Banana split, banana souffle ? Perhaps banana jam; but I remember reading in Arundhati Roy’s, ‘The God of small things’, that there was no such thing as a banana jam. Do correct me if I am wrong. Well, bananas do not have the requisite natural pectin for the setting I suppose.

Since I am at random thoughts on gardening, may I suggest this hilarious article I caught on the WSJ. It’s about this person who makes feeble attemts at living like a rustic country squire.

Well, until tomorrow then.

 

